Exclusive: Makho Interviews Tamia


A few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to interview Grammy nominated singer Tamia at her NYC’s publicist office. I have been a HUGE fan of her music for years, so you can only imagine what a nervous wreck I was to meet her face to face. Thank goodness the Canadian born beauty was not only stunning in person but she was also warm, funny and such a joy to be around.  I almost didn’t want the interview to end! A little birdie told me that she might be coming back to South Africa soon, but in the meantime check out my interview with her.

photo_2-1024x1024buzz

Makho Ndlovu: You look amazing! Fill me in on your beauty must haves for the face and body?

Tamia: A must have for me is moisturizer for my skin. I have dry skin, so I can’t stand it when my skin is too dry.  For the body? Hmmm moisturizer as well.

You are in great shape, do you work out?

I try to work out as much as possible. It’s obviously easier when I’m at home; it’s harder when I’m on the road. For some reason, I never have enough room in my suitcase for my sneakers or workout clothing. I try, it just never works out. (laughs) So a lot of times I will do something from YouTube or the Internet from my hotel room.

I love how active you are on twitter, (follow her @realtamiaworld).  I know you have 2 daughters would you allow them to get on twitter?

No, not right now. They are too young to get on twitter and Facebook. My eldest, she knows how to Google and things like that. But for her own social media account? Not yet!

grantmasterclbuzz

Do your daughters sing?

Both girls sing and they have beautiful voices. If they wanted to pursue a career in the music industry then I would want to be the female Matthew Knowles. My job as a parent is to protect my children. I would want to make sure they not only own the company but also the masters and ultimately march to the beat of their own drum. I would be there to help facilitate that.

Most people don’t know how business savvy you are. Talk to me about creating your own record label, Plus One music. Is it difficult being an artist and being a CEO?

It is sometimes but it’s more satisfying at the end of the day to know that you are involved in every aspect of it. As an artist you want to stay creative but sometimes knowing the budget and how much you spend on something or how much you aren’t spending on something, can mess with the creatitivity a little bit. I think there is a fine line.  For me though, I would much rather know the bottom line than to be in the cloud as an artist.

Is music your only focus, or would you eventually like to act on TV and film?

I have done a little bit of acting in movies and TV shows. I was in a movie called ‘Speed 2’ a few years ago, so I am not opposed to it. I love shooting music videos and doing television shows so I think it could be fun.

Who are you famous Hollywood friends?

I would say I have a lot of friends in Hollywood but are those are the friends that I call up in the middle of the night when I have stuff going on? Nah! I have true friends that I can call up and say ‘guess what’ or ‘ I did so bad today’.  But on the flip side of that, I do have some really great friends in Hollywood like some of the female artists.  We all get along so it’s always great to see them.

Speaking of bad times, you were diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis a few years ago. How are you feeling?

I feel great! I think it was a wakeup call to get my act together and start taking care of myself. That’s sort of how I looked at it. From that moment on, I really made my health and wellness a priority.

You went to South Africa in 2004 and 2005. What was the most memorable part of your visit?

Every time I go to South Africa, it’s the easiest show ever. I don’t have to sing! The fans are just so loving and have such an appreciation of music. As an artist, I have been fortunate to be in this business for a while and I vividly remember the first time I went. It was such an amazing experience for me to really understand how small the world is. I felt love from people that I didn’t even realize knew my music. They sang every song from beginning to end! I mean, not just the hit songs but also the album cuts, so it was very uplifting for me as an artist.

I love that! Is it true that a trip to Africa inspired one of your previous albums?

On the airplane ride to South Africa is where I came up with the idea of ‘Between Friends’, the name, the title and all of that. I am really looking forward to doing that (visiting Africa) again and I just really appreciate the support. I can feel the love. Thank you to my fans!

You have released some albums in South Africa first and then scheduled a US release after. Explain to me how that first came about?

The great thing about being independent is that you have the ability to do deals with whomever and however you want to do them. For the last project, the record company there was ready to go and I was thinking ‘why not give it to them?’ The world has become very small, no need to hold things back. I feel like if it’s ready to go, lets give to as many people as we can.

photo_1buzz

Tell me about the sound coming from the new album ‘Beautiful Surprise’?

Beautiful Surprise is definitely a happy album. Although, there are some songs that will make you get your tissue out.  I don’t want listening to the album to be just a downer, so I would say the songs make you think. Think of the album as a woman with highs and lows. It’s really a fun and happy project.

You had a huge hit with Fabulous ‘So Into You’, are we seeing any hip hop collaborations on this Beautiful Surprise?

On this project? No not right now, but we are working on remixes.

Third Annual Jay-Z And Lebron James "Two Kings" Dinner And After Partybuzz

Before I go, I want to talk about your husband NBA basketball player Grant Hill. After 13 years of marital bliss, he says you know you were the one after a few months of dating. How did you know he was the one?

I think he knew I was the one after he saw the ‘You Put A Move On My Heart’ video. (laughs) I don’t know if there was ever such a moment for me. From the beginning I felt very secure and comfortable.  We just had some sort of mesh and it was very easy.

You are a true basketball wife, and with the success of the Basketball Wives franchise, would you ever be open starring in a reality show?

Grant and I have been asked to do a reality show and for us, at this point in our lives, it’s just not something we would be interested in. I’m promoting this project and he was just at the London Opening ceremonies with First Lady Michelle Obama.  We are a little busy. (laughs) So for now, it’s just not something we would be open to.

Ends.

Thank you to Huff Entertainment for the interview!

Interview by Makho Ndlovu@MakhoNdlovu

Beautiful Surprise’ will be released in the US on August 28 for more information on on the worldwide release date check out Tamias website http://www.tamiaworld.com

Leave a comment